jump to navigation

What’s in a name? September 15, 2010

Posted by Fritz in Yachts and other things that float.
Tags: ,
trackback

We just passed the the peak of a below average hurricane season. Being a ho-hum season, I just got around to checking the names assigned to this year’s storms. I was rather amazed to see I had a connection to almost every name this season.

Storm Names for 2010

Alex, Bonnie, Colin, Danielle, Earl, Fiona, Gaston, Hermine, Igor, Julia, Karl, Lisa, Matthew, Nicole, Otto, Paula, Richard, Shary, Tomas, Virginie, Walter

Alex is my daughter’s ex-boyfriend; Bonnie is my neighbor across the street (although she goes by Bunny); Colin is one of my brother-in-laws; Danielle is my next door neighbor, Earl is my brother’s old roommate; Fiona is my cousin-in-law’s daughter; Gaston is the last name of my favorite artist; I wish I knew a Hermine and an Igor; Julia is the daughter of a good friend of mine; Karl is a neighbor across the street; Lisa is a cousin once removed; Matthew is Colin’s son; Nicole was best friends with my daughter in 5th grade; Otto is a dear friend from Houston; Paula is married to Mark, an old college chum; Richard, everyone knows a dick…; Shary, Tomas and Virginie have yet to be graced by my presence and Walter is my best bud’s son.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

