jump to navigation

Small Town Values May 23, 2010

Posted by Fritz in Yachts and other things that float.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I stopped thinking Frank Cerabino was funny a long time ago. Cerabino is a columnist for the ‘not suitable for wrapping fish’ newspaper The Palm Beach Post. I canceled my subscription over a year ago and only read the free edition on the internet.  I rarely even glance at Cerabino’s column as it is always liberal and always stupid. But a recent article ‘ol Frank wrote had the beginnings of some merit.

It seems Frank is like all the rest of the Libs out there up in arms over the Arizona immigration bill. These leftists just can’t seem to understand why conservatives think it’s a good idea to have control over our borders and to enforce the laws already on the books. They wave their arms in the air and start wailing ‘racists’ because we want to protect the sovereignty of our great nation.

Frank’s article posited that in order to really show support for what we believe in we should all start mowing our own lawns—independence from immigrant labor.

Young capitalist

Brilliant idea Frank! When I was twelve I wanted cash for all my hobbies (HO gauge race cars were the coolest!) and the occasional stop at the candy store conveniently located between home and school. My folks didn’t pay out an allowance so I was always looking for ways to make a buck…or fifty cents. I can still remember the unbridled joy of getting my first lawn-cutting job and getting $2 for the task. I swear I knocked on every door on my street that Spring trying to secure the rights to mow the neighborhood.

That’s what’s missing in America now. Kids mowing lawns. American kids, learning the value of the dollar and doing the work we, Americans should be doing.

If a neighbor kid knocked on my door and introduced himself (or herself) and asked if they could cut my lawn, I’d jump at the chance to give them a chance. Sure I might have to invest a little time in the beginning, making sure they learned how I like things done. But that’s the way it used to be. Adults taking the time to teach responsibility and nurture capitalism. Unfortunately, I don’t think I could get away with a $2 mow job today.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

