jump to navigation

Google’s gears got me gagged May 31, 2009

Posted by Fritz in Humor, Yachts and other things that float.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I got Geek Fever and survived!

For about a week now my computer was sick. Every time I tried to upload an image in WordPress, my browser, FireFox, would crash.

I tried everything including re-installing FireFox…nothing worked. I was at my wit’s end so I took a deep breath and asked myself, how would my spiritual guide approach this problem.

yogaI saw visions of wheat grass and nut milk bags and heard chimes and gongs and everyone was holding hands and chanting softly, gently drifting in the collective current of love.

Well that wasn’t gonna cut it for this crisis…I was on my own, alone…my tech-savvy guru was off having to-die-for hash browns while I was starving for a byte.

And then it came to me….WordPress Help forums.

I’m not one for actually being patient enough to forage through the wilds of geekdom to find a thread from another techno-retard like myself who doesn’t know his floppy from his hard drive…but I was desperate.  safetyfirst

I’m not a Catholic but I crossed myself anyway. I suited up, strapped on and plunged headlong into the abyss:

As soon as I pressed the search button I knew I was never coming back…I could feel my temperature rising as the geek fever infected me rendering my protective gear useless. This strain of geek fever was immune to every inoculation I had ever had…I was defenseless. I was succumbing. eyeprotection

The very first entry in the forum held the priceless answer to my issue…I now had my cure but would I be able to make it work. I mustered every last ounce of energy and flung myself headfirst back through the electronic portal which I had entered just moments ago. Miraculously, I had enough life left to escape the clutches of the vile place they call ‘the forum’.

http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/firefox-crashing-on-clicking-image-uploader?replies=44#post-344357

I followed the decontamination protocol and proceeded to inject my WordPress site with the only known serum that could save us all. virusI shut my eyes as I pressed the ‘upload’ button knowing if this inoculation failed…all mankind was doomed.

What happened next was unbelievable.  A chorus of beautiful voices began chanting an angelic chord. Gongs and bells peeled a harmony so pure it made me weep. Everyone was supping a glorious green juice drink and my FireFox didn’t crash!!!

I’m so proud of myself…all is right in the world again.

The issue was with Google’s Gears add-on. I’m not quite sure why it just decided to start crashing FireFox since I had Gears enabled previously. The fix was simply to disable Gears and restart FireFox.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

