jump to navigation

I Like Women May 29, 2009

Posted by Fritz in Music I fancy.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Mea maxima culpa!

I recently had occasion to take stock of my music inventory and came to the realization; I like women.

Enya

Enya

One of my recent moves into the 21st technological century was to upgrade to a Blackberry Pearl Flip. Besides being Internet ready and being a camera, it also has the great function of serving as my new Ipod. I splurged for an 8gb micro SD (replacing the paltry 256mb that came with the phone) and proceeded to download my music collection.

Having all your music in the same device that serves as a phone has made it that much easier to listen to music and much more frequently. During a recent multi-hour jag of listening and taking the occasional call, I realized my musical tastes really lean toward female voices that are; powerful, soaring, pure and sometimes downright angelic.

Annie Lennox
Annie Lennox

Annie Lennox, LeAnn Rimes, Deborah Holland, Celtic Woman, Enya, Lucinda Williams, and Nina Simone all have me awestruck. There are other voices that I enjoy, both male and female but these powerful and beautiful voices have gravitated to my favorite playlists.

LeAnn Rimes
LeAnn Rimes

I’ve had Lennox, Williams and Enya for many years and I discovered Holland when she fronted for Animal Logic on their two albums. I have since purchased several of her solo CD’s and while the genre is completely different, her amazing voice is still the reason I listen.

Deborah Holland
Deborah Holland

Just recently I was turned on to Simone by a friend and I have to give props to PBS for introducing me to  Celtic Woman (who put on one of the best concerts I have ever seen). If you ever have a chance to see them, do it.

LeAnn Rimes has fascinated me since she was first on the music scene back in 1995 at the tender age of 13. She was a child prodigy with a voice way beyond her years. It has only gotten better  since her breakout album ‘Blue’ and everything she sings is just awesome.

Celtic Women

Celtic Woman

Nina Simone

Nina Simone

Lucinda Williams

Lucinda Williams

Comments»

1. rodrigo lisboa santos - March 7, 2010

enya é a voz muis incrivel da musica atual, eu adoro
de paixâo a musica da enya , eu conheci atravès
da minha ex-esposa que presenteou minha mâe com o disco “memory of tree“ . day me apaixonei, comperi
shepherd moons, e este disco dessa mulher incrivel que è enya, – enya voçê è tudo de bom
um abraço de um fân que te adora, rodrigo.


Leave a Reply

