jump to navigation

Thanks Alice! May 22, 2009

Posted by Fritz in Music I fancy, Yachts and other things that float.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Schools Out For Summer (almost)

I was 14 when Alice Cooper’s iconic homage to the end of the school year debuted. I can still remember the excitement that song generated. Suddenly I had an anthem to play long and loud proclaiming the joy that had been building in me since the previous Fall.

cooper1978

“School’s Out” became Alice Cooper’s first major hit single reaching #7 on the Bill Board Hot 100 pop singles chart and propelling the album to #2 on the Bill Board 200 pop albums chart. The song reached #1 on the UK Singles Chart for three weeks in August 1972. It also marked the first time that Alice Cooper became regarded as more than just a theatrical novelty act.

As I took my daughter to the bus this morning I couldn’t help hearing that song once again, jamming in my head. Today was the last day of classes before exams and I could sense my daughters excitement knowing the summer break was just a week away. I’ll put a copy of the song on her Ipod so she can rock out next Friday just like I did, 37 years ago…

Well we got no choice
All the girls and boys
Makin all that noise
‘Cause they found new toys
Well we can’t salute ya
Can’t find a flag
If that don’t suit ya
That’s a drag
School’s out for summer
School’s out forever
School’s been blown to pieces…
Alice Cooper

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

