jump to navigation

Technology vs. the 8-Track mentality May 6, 2009

Posted by Fritz in Humor.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

If ‘progress’ keeps up, man will atrophy all his limbs except for the push-button finger.”—-Frank Lloyd Wright

I got a new toy the other day and I’m still trying to figure it out. I changed my cell phone service and splurged for a new phone in the process. T-Mobile, my new carrier, made it too easy not to upgrade to a Blackberry and all the joys that that entails. blackberry-pearl-flip The first order of business was to figure out this little bugger. I spurned the on-line tutorial and only glanced at the manual. The install CD had a step by step guide that seemed far to involved. I passed on watching it.

How hard could it be? It’s a phone for god’s sake.

Hours, then a day, then another day went by. I still couldn’t figure out how to e-mail from it. In the meantime, I had managed to: import my old phone numbers,  choose a stupid ring tone, accidentally delete all my imported old numbers and forget where I picked that stupid ring tone so I could change it.

I finally relented and called in an expert. My 15 year-old spent about 20 minutes and had me hooked up. Between the ‘Hey Dad, when do I get a Blackberry’ and the ‘this is way too much phone for you, you should give it to me,’  I  realized I had to do a much better job of keeping up with technology. My 15 year-old will eventually move out one day and then I will be forced to read the directions.

Before I actually owned a Blackberry I was publicly disdainful of all those ‘crackberry’ addicts; heads buried and fingers flying for hours on end. Now that I own one and know how to use it, it’ll take more than a twelve step program to save me.

Comments»

1. I Like Women « One Step At A Time - May 29, 2009

[…] of my recent moves into the 21st technological century was to upgrade to a Blackberry Pearl Flip. Besides being Internet ready and being a camera, it also has the great function of serving as my […]


Leave a Reply

