jump to navigation

Darren Rowse – Build a Better Blog Challenge – Lesson #8 April 20, 2009

Posted by Fritz in Health.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Forty pounds and counting…

Day 8’s challenge is a simple one and timely to-boot. Darren’s lesson is to interlink some of my older posts to newer ones thus giving me an excuse to create fresher content and optimize the chances of more people finding older posts that may have gotten stale sitting on the shelves in the blogosphere.

Breville Juicer

Breville XXJE95XL 2-speed Juicer

I started juicing about 5 months ago. My first post about that was back on November 14, 2008.  Since that time many good things have happened. First and foremost I have changed my diet dramatically.  I stopped drinking alcohol and have reduced my red meat intake to hardly any at all.  I have reduced my overall meat intake by at least 50% while my fruit and vegetable consumption is off the charts. All of this, coupled with a pretty regular regimen of daily walking has resulted in over 40 pounds disappearing.

I can also say with complete honesty that I really have not craved any of my old favorites…including alcohol.  I have to give the credit to the juicing.

As I did when I started out, I am juicing almost daily.  I drink 32 oz. of mostly vegetables.  My staples have been: kale and turnip greens, romaine lettuce, cucumber, apples, carrots (1/4 of the time) and celery.  I add to that large bunches of herbs like cilantro, Thai basil (horapa), ginger root and any other herb that finds their way into my refrigerator.

I purchased a Breville juicer that has really been a winner.  I did my homework before buying it and it has really lived up to its reputation.  I highly recommend it as a first juicer.

I try to juice between 9 and 10am.  This is my breakfast and lunch.  The utterly amazing thing is that it fills me up and satisfies my hunger until dinner.  Sometimes I do get hungry around 4 and a handful of nuts or a piece of fruit takes care of that.There was a time when I would make myself a green smoothie around 3 or 4pm.  That was more than enough to take care of the hunger pangs and sometimes I wouldn’t bother with dinner.

Living with two regular eaters however, I  usually eat what we have for dinner.  Since I do most of the cooking, meat is usually chicken and we always have lots of vegetables.  We love all kinds of cuisine, especially Thai,  so it’s easy to keep it varied and fresh.

I have become more conscious of portions and I do not eat as much at each sitting. The results have been great and I can report never feeling healthier.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

