jump to navigation

West Palm Beach Tea Party – Making waves April 16, 2009

Posted by Fritz in Yachts and other things that float.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

They say any press is good press, right?

Well I got some…front page no less.

p4130011

I attended the West Palm Beach Tea Party yesterday afternoon. An estimated crowd of 1000 fed-up Floridians amassed to show their displeasure for the current Administration. I made a sign and waded into the crowd enjoying my first ever ‘protest’. Little did I know it would have been like blowing through a no-wake zone at top speed.

Yep, that's me.

Yep, that's me.

That sign caught the eye of two reporters. The first was from the Palm Beach Post, our local daily. The reporter, Charles Elmore, asked me  standard questions and I obliged with what I knew would be a juicy sound bite. The next reporter approached me about ten minutes later.   He said he had taken a picture of me and wanted to get my story. He introduced himself as Joe Kovacs, a reporter from WorldNetDaily.com. It’s a news service I knew had a reputation for the sensational.  Ooooh baby, my heart raced!  As I was venting my spleen, Joe stopped me and asked if he could record our conversation. I was beginning to get giddy. You stick a microphone in my face and suddenly I think I’m on ‘Amercian Idol‘. I knew ‘ol Joe was looking for some red meat so I made sure I gave him some. It’s called ‘tailoring the message to the messenger’ and I can tell you, my past experience in the media and as a salesman paid off.  Both news organizations quoted me in stories about the local Tea Party including an above the fold, front page story in the Post with my quote as the secondary headline!

I just wished I had worked in my blog address into the story…

Fritz Breland

###

Comments»

1. Allen West for Congress « - April 22, 2010

[…] I attended the April 15th Tea Party rally in West Palm last week. It was my second rally after the inaugural gathering in the rain last year. I made another sign and my lack of creativity or the need to not change the […]


Leave a Reply

