jump to navigation

The Adventure Realized January 30, 2009

Posted by Fritz in Health.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I completed my first liver flush last night.  Although the actual flush itself occurs  30 minutes after ingestion of the last ingredients, the process began six days ago and the consequences will probably be with me for most of the day. More on that later.

I determined that a internal cleansing of my liver and more appropriately– my gallbladder, was in order.  I had been experiencing pain and distention on my right side for a while now.  Having  lost 40 pounds since I introduced juicing to my lifestyle 5 months ago my body has responded in different ways and was beginning to ‘tell’ me what it needed.

Just before I started the flush (which I will describe in detail later) I visited a Chiropractor recommended to me by a Colon hydro-therapist I had visited (that’s for another post!).  My visit was initially for an adjustment to my back which ‘just felt’ like it needed to be tweaked.

I didn’t realize that the Chiropractor was also a licensed acupuncturist and as soon as he had me on the table he prodded multiple places across my back and asked a very interesting question.

“Are you having gall bladder trouble?”

His question surprised me.  He went on to ask if I also was having an issue with my heart.  I said I didn’t think so. But then I came clean about my gall bladder issue and impending flush. He explained that I didn’t need an adjustment or a flush, I needed acupuncture.

Having never experienced acupuncture I was eager to try it. He  proceeded to insert four needles in different places on my back (which I barely felt) and said after this I could pass on the flush.  I politely explained that I had just bought $60 worth of organic apples from Whole Foods so I was going to do the flush!

The session lasted just 15 minutes.  I ended up getting a small adjustment anyway and went on my merry way impressed the doctor diagnosed my gall bladder issue just from touching my back.  I will also say that I did experience short term relief from the pain in my gallbladder that day.  It lasted about 8 hours.

Armed with confirmation that my self diagnosis was correct I  started the 5 day cleanse.  To save time I will link to the sight whose protocol I followed.

www.colonzone.org/liver-flush.php

Let me begin by saying I chose to begin the process with an apple fast.  Some protocols say it’s ok to eat regular meals for the first 4 days, then fast just for the last one.  I wanted to give myself the best shot at making this work so I ate and drank nothing but apples and apple juice for four of the five days (I cheated on day one).

Detox

I had read and been told to expect the effects of detoxification after a few days.  Physical symptoms include headache, nausea, light headedness and gastric distress.  I experienced all but the nausea in varying degrees.  What I wasn’t prepared for was the psychological detox that started.

About day three I started to feel much more emotional about everything. Odd thoughts and old memories bubbled to the surface and kept me on edge.  I awoke at 2:30am on day four both in physical and emotional pain. I kept myself together by knowing this would be over very soon.

The Flush

Epsom salt is magnesium sulfate.  It is used in this procedure as a laxative and is reported to relax the bile ducts.

At 2pm I prepared the Epsom salt/distilled water solution–3 cups of water and 4 tablespoons of Epsom salt.  I followed the directions of the flush and ate a no-fat or oil lunch of veggies and a toasted English muffin. That was it for food. At 6pm I ingested my first of four, 3/4 cups of  the distilled water/Epsom salt solution.  Blecchh!   It tastes terrible.

Twenty minutes later the laxative properties of the magnesium sulfate were proved! Twenty minutes after that they were proved again!  Now, nothing but what was in my intestines was being evacuated at this point…the actual flush of the gall bladder wouldn’t occur until later.

At 8pm I took my second dose of Epsom salt water.  More evacuations followed, 100% liquid each time.

At 9:45 it was the moment I had been waiting for.  I mixed the juice of two red grapefruits with a 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil and shook it up in a container.  I knew this was going to be tough but I just did it.  I downed the oily mixture all at once pausing briefly in the middle to breathe.  Not a pleasant experience but not quite as bad as I had imagined.  At least I didn’t hurl.

I immediately followed the directions and laid down on my right side with my legs tucked tightly to my chest.  I was anxious to feel  the result of the flush as I had read what physically is occurring inside me.  I was surprised that I didn’t feel much.  The occasional gurgle and growl but nothing more than what I have experienced eating a big burrito.  Amazingly too, I didn’t feel the need to go to the bathroom.  After 35 minutes. I got up, brushed my teeth and went back to bed.

This morning

I was up at 5:30am.  I followed the directions and drank the third of my four epsom salt doses.  Just 5 minutes later I ran for the bathroom.

…to be continued.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

