jump to navigation

Lucky Me January 6, 2009

Posted by Fritz in Health, Humor.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

It’s after midnight and the house is all quite…no sounds except for the exceptionally loud case of tinnitus tonight.

I have suffered from ringing in the ears for as long as I can remember.  I think it started in college, probably after a night of rocking out next to a stack of Marshal amps during one of the many dozens of concerts I attended while wasting my parents money.

Or it could be from something else because I really didn’t like sitting near the speakers.  The truth is, I ended up putting anything I  could into my ears to block the sound.  I was a loud music wus…I just pretended so my roommates wouldn’t laugh at me.

So why do I suffer from tinnitus now?  I’ve read up on the subject and there isn’t  a whole lot of definitive answers to go on.  Most of the experts say it has to be from exposure to sustained loud noises.  I don’t qualify there.  So let’s see what else it could be.  Some of the other causes listed in Wikipidia include:

Hmmm, seems I have a lot to choose from.  I can pretty much rule out everything listed above psychedelic drugs…after that,  all bets are off….

***

I’ve gotten pretty used to it now.  Most of the time it’s just a light chorus of locust buzzing through a West Texas sunset. Tonight it’s more like a million of the little buggers packed in a bucket that’s planted firmly on my head.  And some damn fool is banging on the bucket.

But I’ll wake up tomorrow, take off the bucket and be happy when the usual high pitched ringing returns to it’s normal level.  It’s been this way for so long I would miss it if went totally away.  I like to think of it as my own personal white noise generator…’cept I didn’t have to pay $129.95 for the one at Sharper Image!

Boy, I sure am lucky…..

Comments»

1. Katja - January 18, 2009

Hi!
Like you I also have severe tinnitus. What do you do to cope?.
I am very sensitive to common sounds in the everyday life too. It´s hard to manage some days.

I got mine from an rockconcert 2002.

Regards Katja from Sweden.

Fritz - January 18, 2009

Dear Katja,

I am still seeking help for my tinnitus. I have read several articles that suggest a raw food diet; no cooked foods, no meat. I have slowly been trying but it is difficult…I like meat and I love to cook.

I have suffered for so long I have been accustomed to the ‘noise’ and it only bothers me during those rare times it flares up…usually late at night or when I am tired.
If you have found any relief, please let me know, Good luck!


Leave a Reply

