jump to navigation

Vikings February 27, 2014

Posted by Fritz in Yachts and other things that float.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Tonight Vikings returns to The History Channel. There are but a handful of TV shows worth watching and this is one of them. The second season kicks off tonight with the shows main character, Ragnar Lodbrok, returning from a plundering expedition in England to find his world in turmoil. A plague has struck his village killing his daughter, his wife is aware of his infidelities and his brother has decided to betray him by taking up arms against him. viking

Thanks to Wikipedia I now know Ragnar Lodbrok was, “a legendary Norse ruler and hero from the Viking Age described in Old Norse poetry and several sagas. Ragnar became known as the scourge of France and England and as the father of many renowned sons, including Ivar the Boneless, Björn Ironside, Halfdan Ragnarsson, Sigurd Snake-in-the-Eye, and Ubba. While his sons are historical figures, it is uncertain whether Ragnar himself existed. Many of the tales about him appear to originate with the deeds of several historical Viking heroes and rulers.”

Everything about the production is a winner. Sets, costumes, makeup (lots of fantastic makeup sell the grimy world these Vikings lived in) and the acting combine for a unique series that has become ‘must see’ TV for me.

I have always fancied myself a Viking in a past life. I am attracted to Nordic features. I am fair, hairy and love boats and the sea. I am loyal to a fault but when crossed I will fight to the death to protect my way of life. I see the earth as a source of pleasure and am quick to indulge in the enjoyments she provides. Like Ragnar and the clan that has begun to follow him, I too see the world in black and white terms; good and evil, friend and foe, pleasure and pain.

wifeThe Viking culture existed and thrived in a harsh physical environment. The perfect example of nature’s way—the strong survive and the weak perish.

Whether Ragnar was real or an amalgam of the many great Viking warriors of history, the Vikings is great TV. It stirs distant feelings deep inside of me of once belonging to that conquering horde from the north.

“Up onto the overturned keel clamber, with a heart of steel. Cold is the ocean’s spray and your death is on its way. With maidens you have had your way,  each must die some day!” Ragnar.pg

Comments»

1. Ragnar's Slavic Desendant - February 27, 2014

Well said my Viking friend!!!!
I have long awaited the return of this series. To Ragnar and his clan – I raise my drinking horn full of barley ale. (I bet a lot of liberals don’t watch this one)


Leave a comment